George Jonas

Selected Poems: 1967-2011 Selected Poems: 1967-2011
(with an introduction by Margaret Atwood)
Cormorant Books, 2015
ISBN: 177086475X


The poems in this collection, selected by Anna Porter, Barbara Amiel, Robyn Sarah, and Marc Côté, demonstrate great depth and breadth over Jonas's career. From the occasional poems of the 1960s, when he was writing as a young man, to the variations and translations of great European poets - from Goethe to Faludy - when he is writing as a much wiser, older man, the poetry reveals a sensibility entirely contemporary and original, but steeped in grand tradition, a writer very much engaged with the things of his world.